Gladys Knight Letter Full of Tears

12,39 €

Product details


This essential LP edition includes Gladys Knight & The Pips’ underrated debut LP, "Letter Full of Tears", which was originally issued in 1962 by the small Fury label, and has been long unavailable on vinyl. The album contains regional hits such as the title song (a reading of Don Covay’s “Letter Full of Tears”), the stomping “Room in Your Heart,” and their first smash – a cover of Johnny Otis’ “Every Beat of My Heart.”

In addition to the original masterpiece, this Vinyl Lovers collector’s edition also includes 2 bonus tracks, consisting of hard-to-find sides issued by the Fury label during the same period: “Come See About Me,” and “I Want that Kind of Love.”

GLADYS KNIGHT (lead vocals) & The Pips: Meral “Bubba” Knight, William Guest, & Edward Patten (backing vocals).
Additional personnel is unknown.

Probably recorded in New York, 1961 & 1962.


01 Letter Full of Tears
02 You Broke Your Promise
03 Operator
04 I’ll Trust in You
05 Morning, Noon & Night
06 I Really Didn’t Mean It
07 Come See About Me (*)


01 Every Beat of My Heart
02 Room in Your Heart
03 Guess Who
04 Stop Runnin’ Around
05 Darling
06 What Shall I Do?
07 I Want that Kind of Love (*)


Reference: LPS-151016
Label: Vinyl Lovers
Label code: 6785479
Format: LP
Number of discs: 1
EAN: 8436544170794