Woody Guthrie I Saw a Sign: 1940-1947 Recordings

12,39 €

Product details


Woody Guthrie (1912-1967) was one of America's greatest folksingers and most influential songwriters. He took the vernacular traditions of blues and country music, and turned complex ideas about democracy, human rights, and economic equality into simple songs that everybody could embrace. Woody spoke for those who carried a heavy burden or had come upon hard times. His words gave a voice to their struggles, and his songs gave them hope and strength.

Guthrie wrote hundreds of songs during his lifetime (some are still being found today), but he recorded most of his finest work during the 1940s, including staples like “This Land Is Your Land,” “Pretty Boy Floyd,” “Vigilante Man,” and “Tom Joad,” to name just a few. The aforementioned songs, and many others, have been included on this essential and remastered 2-CD set, which compiles a variety of sensational and influential titles recorded by Guthrie between 1940 and 1947.

vocals, guitar, and occasional harmonica

Also featuring:
Cisco Houston (duet vocals and guitar), Sonny Terry (harmonica),
Pete Seeger & The Almanac Singers.

Recorded between 1940 and 1947.


CD 1: TOTAL TIME: 72:32 Min.

01 Pretty Boy Floyd
02 This Land Is Your Land
03 Pastures of Plenty
04 Vigilante Man
05 Talking Dust Bowl Blues
06 Tom Joad – part 1
07 Tom Joad – part 2
08 Do-Re-Mi
09 Cumberland Gap
10 House of the Rising Sun
11 Wreck of the Old ‘97
12 Dusty Old Dust (So Long,
It's Been Good to Know Yuh)
13 Jesus Christ
14 Bed on the Floor
15 There's a Better World
16 Worried Man Blues
17 Hard Travellin'
18 Car Song
19 Talking Columbia Blues
20 Two Good Men
21 Buffalo Skinners
22 Chain Gang Special
23 Dust Can't Kill Me
24 Columbus Stockade
25 Take a Whiff on Me
26 Hard Ain't Hard

CD 2: TOTAL TIME: 67:40 Min.

01 I Ain't Got No Home
02 Dust Bowl Blues
03 Foggy Mountain Top
04 Gypsy Davy
05 Jesse James
06 Hobo's Lullaby
07 Blowin' Down This Road
08 Miner's Song
09 Dust Bowl Refugees
10 The Golden Vanity
11 Little Darling
12 John Henry
13 Muleskinner Blues
14 Keep My Skillet Good and Greasy
15 Go Tell Aunt Rhody
16 Fox Chase
17 Grand Coulee Dam
18 Howdi Do
19 New York Town
20 Lonesome Train
21 Dust Pneumonia Blues
22 The Great Dust Storm (Dust Storm Disaster)
23 Oregon Trail
24 Clean-O
25 Dance Around

Reference: HOO-151197
Label: Hoo Doo Records
Label code: 263587
Format: CD
Number of discs: 2
EAN: 8436559463843