Jimmy Jones Good Timin'

8,26 €

Product details


This essential release presents Jones' splendid debut LP, Good Timin'. The album was originally issued in 1960 by the MGM label and has been long unavailable on CD. It features a number of great R&B staples by this sweet-voiced and compelling singer, such as the aforementioned Otis Blackwell-produced “Handy Man” (later covered by Del Shannon, James Taylor, and even Frank Black), and other highlights like the titled-track “Good Timin',” plus “Ready for Love,” “A Wondrous Place,” and “I Just Go for You.” In addition to the original masterpiece, this remastered collector's edition contains 15 bonus tracks, consisting of hard-to-find sides issued by MGM, and small imprints like Cub, Arrow, and Rama, during the same period. This set provides an outstanding overview of this unfairly forgotten artist and is a must-have for early soul, doo-wop and classic R&B devotees.


JIMMY JONES, lead vocals, plus:
Orchestra arranged and conducted by LeRoy Kirkland and Bob Mersey.

Recorded in New York, between 1959 and 1960.



01. Good Timin'
02. A Wondrous Place
03. Never Had It So Good
04. For You
05. Where in the World
06. Then I'll Know
07. Handy Man
08. Too Long Will Be Too Late
09. My Precious Angel
10. Ready for Love
11. The Search Is Over
12. I Just Go for You
13. Ee-i-ee-i-oh (Old McDonald)
14. Itchin'
15. You for Me for Love
16. That's When I Cried
17. Whenever You Need Me
18. You Are Much Too Young
19. I Say I Love
20. The Whistlin' Man (Jimmy Jones with The Jones Boys)
21. Heaven in Your Eyes (Jimmy Jones with The Jones Boys)
22. Handy Man (Jimmy Jones with The Sparks of Rhythm)
23. Daddy Needs Baby (Jimmy Jones with The Pretenders)
24. Part Time Sweetheart (Jimmy Jones with The Pretenders)
25. Lover – Jimmy Jones with The Pretenders
26. The Bells Are Ringing (Jimmy Jones with The Pretenders)
27. I've Got to Have You Baby (Jimmy Jones with The Pretenders)


Reference: HOO-149711
Sello: Hoo Doo Records
Referencia: 263559
Formato: CD
Ud. de formato: 1
EAN: 8436559462228